One Foot Forward

A new endeavor is always somewhat scary.  A group of wonderful ladies, that I am blessed to be able to call my friends, and I started on a journey in January 2013.  We were beginning a new bible study called The 7 Experiement by Jen Hatmaker.  We spend time together on Wednesday mornings discussing life and God’s Word.  I think I can speak for the entire group when I say that we are being challenged.  In small ways and in ways that are so big that they change how we look at certain areas of our life.

The theme that has been tying it all together is this:  Do we view our possessions and resources as simply blessings to use as we see fit, or are they a means to battle injustice and poverty in the world?  These weeks and lessons have made me take a long and hard look at my life, my attitudes, my actions (or in some cases inaction) and my commitment to Jesus’ teachings.

We are looking at many areas of our lives including:  food, clothing, possessions, media, waste, spending, and stress.  This is not an easy task.  I’m thankful for a group of friends that I can be honest with.  It’s great to be able to share in our triumphs, but also such a blessing to be able to honestly share our failures and to encourage each other on to greater things.

If you have not had the chance to read “7” by Jen Hatmaker, I can’t recommend it enough. You will be challenged, you will laugh out loud, and you will be changed.

What would happen if we began to reject the consumer driven culture that we are surrounded by and started to live Christ-led lives of simplicity?  What would happen if we realized that we really are “rich”?  What if we started looking beyond our comfort zones and used every means possible to serve the poor and lowly?  I’m not entirely sure where that road would lead, but I’m glad to be walking it with friends.  Won’t you join us?

Leave a Reply

