About the Name

Sunny Summer CalendarA new blog…a blank slate.  It’s needs a name.  The possibilities are wide-open.  After some of the discussions with my fellow bible study ladies an apt name might have been, “How I Drove My Husband Crazy!”  After all they were not necessarily reading every bit of scripture and digesting every single fact about consumerism, waste, and the poor that we were.  All they knew is that their wives suddenly came home talking about changing eating habits, recycling every little scrap they could, and why their men didn’t need the latest and greatest from ebay or amazon.com.

I had this blog with its name “For This Day” set up a while ago for another project, but it just seemed to fit what we had been experiencing.  When looking at the poor of our world, the injustice, and whether or not our meager changes really make a difference, we can easily become overwhelmed.  The scope is great.  However, I think sometimes we just need to take a step back and focus on today.  What can I do for this day to make a difference.  What can I do for this day to listen to the direction God is leading me in.  What can I do for this day to leave the world a little better than I found it this morning.

I’m reminded of the chorus from an old gospel song. (Forgive me for using the word old.  I’m 37 and it’s been around for as long as I can remember)

One day at a time, sweet Jesus
That’s all I’m asking from you
Give me the strength to do everything that I have to do
Yesterday’s gone sweet Jesus
And tomorrow may never be mine
Help me today
Show me the way
One day at a time

Yesterday can’t be changed.  We’re not guaranteed a tomorrow.  Today is here and now.  How am I going to serve Him with all of my heart, mind, and soul….today!

Leave a Reply

