Is this food?

There’s no other way to say it.  Our American culture is focused on convenience.  How else do you explain individually wrapped snack cakes, cases of bottled water, and hamburger helper.  Fast and easily available.  In fact there is a 4-mile strip of highway near where I live that is full of restaurants, fast food joints, and stores.  I decided to count them one day.  How many would you guess?  70!  That’s right…70 restaurants in that 4 mile stretch.  We’re surrounded by convenience.  Don’t have time to cook?  No problem, we’ve got you covered.  No time to take real ingredients and make a healthy meal.  Here’s a bag of frozen food to pop in the microwave.  It all comes at a price.  We no longer feed our bodies with whole simple foods.  We ingest food products that are chocked full of preservatives, artificial colors, sugars, and processed ingredients.  Take a look at the labels of some of your favorite convenience food.  I’m willing to bet they look something like this:

pop tarts
Words like enriched, high fructose, and a whole host of words I can’t even pronounce make for an ingredient list a mile long.  1 Corinthians 3:16-17 says, “You realize, don’t you , that you are the temple of God, and God himself is present in you?  No one will get by with vandalizing God’s temple, you can be sure of that.  God’s temple is sacred and you, remember, are the temple.

I admit I have read these verses many times and just glossed over them.  Hmmm, I really need to eat better, and then I’d go about my day just as usual.  It’s one of the many verses that I read and try not to think too hard about.

I have been doing myself a huge disservice by mistreating my body.  The first step that I took as a result of this week of study was to cut out the processed sugar.  It’s harder than you might think.  It’s in EVERYTHING!  Even in the places you wouldn’t think to look.  Spaghetti sauce, bread, you name it!  We discovered the joy of eating local honey.  I started taking time to really see what was in our foods.  Are we eating whole and organic foods all the time now?  No. But we are taking serious the command to take care of the “temple”.

On a side note, one of the things that got dropped this first week and has stuck is diet soda.  I love me a Diet Dr. Pepper!  I had given up diet soda before and felt so much better when I did, but then I went back to it.  Here’s the facts.  Off the soda, I sleep better (no caffeine issues to keep me up), I feel better, and I drink more water.  The effects of aspartame and artificial sweeteners have been hotly debate.  I can only speak from my own experience.  I’m better off without it.  I’m sorry Diet Dr. Pepper, but we have to break up.  It’s not you, it’s me.  Actually it is you.

How about you?  I know there’s one step you can take today toward a healthier life!

Leave a Reply

