Abundance

I had to stop at Walmart for a few necessities today. (Milk, contact lens solution, soap)  As I was strolling through the store, honestly, I felt a little sad.  Row after row, aisle after aisle of stuff.  Some of it necessary…toilet paper anyone?  A lot of it just excess.  I passed the children’s clothing section and there was rack after rack of clearance items.  Coats for $3!  I’m sure there are countless numbers of kids out there who do not have adequate coats and here was an entire rack for next to nothing.

walmart

I put a couple of clearance shirts in my cart.  They will stay in a bin at my house until November.  Then we’ll fold them up and stuff them in an Operation Christmas Child box bound for another country.  The abundance of cheap goods is troubling to me, but I’ve decided to turn it into something good.  Planning ahead is the key!  Last year we collected items we found on clearance and sales throughout the year.  By November we were able to pack 15 boxes for Operation Christmas Child just from our family.

Try it!  You can find items all year long for next to nothing.  Hard candy is on sale after holidays, school supplies in July & August, and clothing when the seasons change.  Dedicate a bin to these items and you may be surprised how many boxes you can pack at the end of the year.

For more information about Operation Christmas Child visit http://www.samaritanspurse.org/occ.  I serve as a year-round volunteer with OCC on the Central Indiana Team and I’d love to tell you more about Operation Christmas Child!

One thought on “Abundance

Leave a Reply

