Here’s the skinny…

In March I will be travelling to Tanzania.  That seems a bit surreal as I type it.  I now have a little over 7 months to prepare.  In addition to the $3000 needed for the trip, I will need to book a flight to New York, get my passport, apply for a visa and get the necessary vaccinations.  But beyond all this is a far greater challenge to me.  This trip will be a difficult one.  It will require long periods of travel and be physically and mentally exhausting. 

I’ll come right out and say it…my fitness level is not where I would like it to be.  According to the wonderful little BMI charts, I’m obese.  I’m not thrilled about that, but it is what it is.  I have no one else to blame.  No one forced me to consume way too much sugar and processed foods.  No one forced me to choose a mostly sedentary lifestyle.  I got this way and stayed this way by using too many excuses.  

When I decided to go on this trip, I knew that God was working on my heart to start to seriously commit to doing something about it.  Please know that what I share I apply to myself alone.  What God has told me is for me to act on.  He’ll speak to you as to your life.  That’s what I love about a personal relationship with God.  

The reasons for this physical preparation were 2-fold.  First, the nature of the trip would require some endurance.  The other reason hit a little more deeply.  I am in the physical shape that I am in because I spent years abusing the fact that I live in a nation of plenty.  I’ve never had to go hungry.  I was surrounded by foods that I choose based more on convenience than nutrition.  It seemed somewhat ridiculous to me to travel halfway around the world to minister to those who went without the basics of life when my struggle was having way too much.  

It’s not easy to share that.  There are very few people in my life with whom I share the more personal aspects of my life.  Although those few would probably wish I shared less with them. 🙂  So for the next 7 months (and beyond) I’m committing to better health.  No crash diets here.  I’m working to cut out processed carbs and sugars.  I’m regularly exercising.  Tonight me and my wonderful exercise partner (my husband) did the  Couch to 5k program….successfully!  (Although he could have at least humored me by pretending to be a bit fatigued as I was sucking wind!)

photoIt’s easy to feel overwhelmed when looking at something like weight loss.  In the past I would drop about 15-20 lbs and then hit a wall.  It was slow to come off and I would get frustrated.  But just like anything huge your facing, whether it’s weight loss, getting out of debt, finishing that degree, or anything else I believe the best approach is one day at a time.  So For This Day I look to Philippians chapter 3

I’m not saying that I have this all together, that I have it made. But I am well on my way, reaching out for Christ, who has so wondrously reached out for me.  Friends, don’t get me wrong: By no means do I count myself an expert in all of this, but I’ve got my eye on the goal, where God is beckoning us onward – to Jesus.  I’m off and running, and I’m not turning back.  –Philippians 3:12-14

 

One thought on “Here’s the skinny…

Leave a Reply

