Time to say goodbye

This journey to better health has brought with it some decisions.  Some that are harder than others.  With it I’m afraid I’ll have to say some “goodbyes”.

images (1)

So for the record, diet soda….I’m going to have to break up with you.  I know, I know we’ve had fun hanging out in the past….especially you, Diet Dr. Pepper.  But you’re just not good for me.  A nice cold Diet Dr. Pepper and I was a happy girl, but then I began to realize something.  I had these weird aches and pains that mysteriously went away when we would be on a break.  I researched you.  You’re chock full of chemicals and stuff that I’m sure God never intended for me to drink.  So as hard as this is, we must part ways.  It’s not you…it’s me…actually it’s you.

Bathroom scale….our relationship is going to have to change.  Yes, in the past we would faithfully visit every morning.  Our relationship was such that I knew exactly where to slide you to on the floor to get the lowest number.  But honestly, you’ve had too much power over me and my mood.  Just as a dropping number could fill me with confidence, a small swing up of your numbers could start my day off in a horrible way…full of defeat.   It’s not really your fault, I let you have that kind of control and power, but now I have to take it back.  Yes, we’ll still visit, but I can’t see us meeting up more than a couple of times a month.  Just enough to make sure I’m on track.  I’m going to have to start visiting your cousin, the measuring tape.  I’ve discovered it’s a far better indicator of my progress.  So for now….take a break.

And finally, coffee…….well I haven’t completely lost my mind! 🙂  But your friend, fancy flavored creamer with the high fructose corn syrup, needs to find somewhere else to hang out.  I’ve invited Half & Half over to stay.

  Whatever I have, wherever I am, I can make it through anything in the One who makes me who I am. –Philippians 4:13 (Message)

Leave a Reply

