I have superpowers….

but they are limited!  I pushed through day 2 of week 2 of Couch to 5k this evening.  It was a little tougher than the first day.  It was slightly warmer and a lot more humid, and I definitely felt it in my breathing.  I’ve decided my jogging skills are a lot like my singing skills…limited in range.  My voice is on the lower end and when the notes fall in my range I can  do a decent job of hitting them and usually with some power behind them.  But go out of my limited range and it’s a different story.  If I could keep the temperature below 70 degrees with little humidity maybe my jogging superpowers would come out!  Until then, I’ll push on.

At least there were no injuries tonight.  My jogging buddy is still out of commission after being viciously attacked by the sidewalk   veering a bit wide and rolling his ankle off the sidewalk two days ago.

dusty

He went down hard.  Usually I’m the klutzy one.  However I was able to use my highly developed skills in treating sprained ankles.  Actually he wanted to shake it off and keep going.  At which I just shook my head and told him we were done!  I had to ask if he was just that crazy or if it was a “guy” thing.  You know, the “no blood, no foul” and “just rub some dirt on it” mentality.  He is a bit on weird side, but I was told it was mostly a guy thing!  Thankfully saner heads prevailed and we headed home…slowly.  Actually he went slowly and I took off to finish the jogging intervals.  It’s the only time in my life where I felt like the more athletic one!

Lesson learned:  always run on the road or my preferred location, the paved trails.

In other happy news, we received our first letter from Olivier from Haiti.  Along with a drawing and telling us some of his favorite things, his brother helped him write this letter.  Here’s what it said.

IMG_9908

Olivier is so glad to greet you.  He is so glad to tell you that everyone is doing well here.  His family greets you right now, he’s not busy in his school because he is on vacation.  He’ll enjoy with his friends.  He loves you so much.  He’ll pray for you.  He wishes you a special summer!

It fills my heart to read the letters from all of our sponsored children.  They are all very special to me.  They are one of the reasons why I’m working so hard to take control of my health before my journey to Africa.

I am able to do all things through Him who strengthens me. –Philippians 4:13

 

Leave a Reply

