Another lap completed…

not around the track, but around the sun.  As of today, I’ve completed 38 of those laps.  It was a fairly low-key day.  I started off with a free treat from Starbucks, got to work at a festively decorated desk, was surprised with two different bouquets of flowers, and enjoyed dinner with my family.  Of course today brought the flurry of Facebook activity that comes with each birthday.  I’m happy and I feel blessed.

DSC04373

See what happens when you jam 38 candles on a little cake….FIRE!

I got to thinking about some other birthdays.  My brother dug up this wonderful little photo from my 15th birthday!

15thbirthday

Yeah, the guy on the left….I married him!  Nine years ago I was celebrating my birthday during a period of depression following a miscarriage a month earlier.  Thankfully, God brought me through that time in my life and I’m stronger for it.  Two years ago we celebrated at the Indiana State Fair.  Later that night, after we had left, a storm ripped through Indianapolis and collapsed the stage at a concert killing several and injuring many.  But I can honestly say that most of my birthdays have been happy days that remind me of how much God really has given me.

And what do I think the next 365 days will bring?  Who knows?  I know there are some things I’d like to accomplish.

During the next year I will travel to Africa.  I sincerely hope that my life is changed and God uses that trip and the ministry of Compassion in a great way.

I want to be at my fitness and health goals.  Do I have a number in mind for the scale.  Not really….I’m not really sure what that “happy” weight number will be.

I want to simplify some areas of my life.  I want to focus on the things that play to my strengths and excel at them.  That will mean stepping away from some things in the process.

I guess when it’s all said and done I want to continue to strive to be the woman, wife, mother, and friend that God has called me to be.  For this day…..that’s not a bad goal to have. 🙂

Leave a Reply

