Back in the saddle

week3

After a few days off of my workout schedule due to a busy life schedule, it was time to hit it again tonight.  I would have went this morning when it was cooler, but I had a chiropractor appointment and it just wasn’t going to work.  So I waited as long as I could and headed out to the trail….somewhere in the low to mid 80’s.  Trying not to think about that I cued up week 3 of Couch to 5k and got ready.  I’ve been on this week….longer than a week.  I still was having trouble completing all of the jogging intervals.  I was successful the last time so I thought if I could do it tonight then it would be time to move on to week 4.  After warming up I headed into the 1st 1 1/2 minute interval.  About half way through I had this thought. “Is this what it’s like for people who jog for fun?”  I was breathing easy and was enjoying the scenery.  Weird. The 3 minute interval went by without any problems.

Now it’s at this point where I feel the need to apologize to anyone who was behind me for the long walking interval.  The song that is playing in my ear seems to cause me to walk with some exaggerated hip and head movements.  I also may have been doing some mini pop and lock moves with my arms.  Sorry….I am blissfully unaware when the music is up….ignore me. 🙂

Next 1.5 minutes jogging. Done.  Now comes the challenge, my nemesis to this point, the 2nd 3 minute interval.  I relaxed and settled in…..and jogged the thing out.  A little labored on the breathing toward the end, but i did it!  I listen to a podcast that has a woman who comes on during the songs to tell me when to switch from walking to jogging.  When that voice came on and said, “Congratulations, you’ve just completed your running interval.”  I wanted to yell for joy.  However I figured I would give the 3 nice ladies that I just passed a heart attack so I refrained.

Finished the cool down walk and ended the workout with the same song I end every workout on.  Maybe someday I’ll tell you what it is, but for now I’ll keep that to myself.  Let’s just say when I’ve accomplished what I want to, the words are perfect and when I haven’t quite made it to my goal for the day, it gives me a shot of encouragement.  And no, it’s not Eye of the Tiger!! That’s Dusty’s gig. 🙂

So with that, week 3, I own you!  Week 4, I’m coming for you…your butt is mine!

Leave a Reply

