Momentum

The ball has been rolling on my trip to Tanzania for some time, but now it’s picking up speed.  The trip is more than an abstract thought of “I’m traveling to Africa next year”.  It’s becoming part of the nuts and bolts reality of each day.  Over the last few days I have sent in my visa application and researched and ordered a new camera.  Today it was a visit to the travel clinic.  I received 3 shots, 2 prescriptions, and brought home medicine to vaccinate myself against typhoid.  Not a typical day in my world.

IMG_9862

As I was driving home I was again hit with the thought of what I have compared to a lot of people in this world.  (Believe me, it’s been happening a lot lately.)  With no more than a short drive and a few hundred dollars (ouch!) I was protected against diseases that claim the lives of millions of children each year.  Malaria kills approximately 1 million children each year….most of them in Sub-Sahara Africa.  My nurse at the clinic went through preventative measures for traveling as well as how to treat problems such as traveler’s diarrhea. (A altogether fun topic to be sure)  And while we may not give such an illness too much thought, 1.8 million children will die of diarrheal-related deaths this year.

And yet through the work of Compassion International children are receiving medical care, education, & nutrition that they may not have otherwise.  I have heard account after account of how sponsorship has made all the difference in the lives of children all over the world.  In March, I’ll see it for myself.

So I sit here typing with 2 sore arms.  A small price to pay for the adventure to come.

One thought on “Momentum

Leave a Reply

